Nothing to see here. Just airing out some laundry. (Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash)

An Open Blog Post to My Non-Believer Relatives

And, by “non-believers,” I mean the ones who don’t believe in science.

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH
6 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Growing up in northern Mexico, I had to deal with the two sides of my extended family disagreeing on different matters. The N’s were devout Catholics and militant partisans of the National Action Party (PAN), a right-wing party by Mexican standards. The P’s were devout Evangelicals and militant partisans of the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), a left-of-center party by Mexican standards. Interestingly enough, the politics of those who migrated to the United States flipped when they crossed the border. The Catholics became Liberal, while the Evangelicals became Conservatives.

Mom and dad saw in me the ability to learn difficult scientific concepts with ease, so they went out of their way to help me learn about science. Catechism school and Sunday school were secondary to the aims of my education. Although I learned much about Christianity and identify as Christian, religion did not become part of my identity. I don’t really place myself in a religious category, though, choosing instead to put myself in a category of scientist: I am an epidemiologist.

When my cousins were being schooled on the different dogmas of their respective branches of the Christian faith, I was getting a children’s…

--

--

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH

DrPH in Epidemiology. Public Health Instructor. Father. Husband. "All around great guy."