How to Create and Sustain a Moral Panic in a Few Simple Steps

It’s an election year, so there must be some sort of moral panic.

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH
6 min readOct 20, 2022
A yellow note on a wooden background reads “I want you to panic!”
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Criminologist Stanley Cohen defined moral panics as a time when “a condition, episode, person or group of persons emerges to become defined as a threat to societal values and interests.” Moral panics are interesting to study, and a little scary to live through. This is especially true if you are one of those persons defined as a threat to societal values.

When I Was Young and Foolish

Back in the early 2000s, I considered myself one of those rare Latinos who were conservative in every way. I was convinced the government was too big and did not align with my interests. Families made up of a mom and dad were best, in my opinion. I lacked a lot of evidence for my beliefs as a young man, but there were sure many people who felt the same way.

When the terrorist attacks of September 11 happened, something else happened to the echo chamber I used to occupy. Very quickly, people I agreed with turned on me. As an immigrant, I became suspect. I became part of a group aiming to “destroy” America. A coworker asked me shortly after the attacks, “Why do you hate us?”

--

--

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH

DrPH in Epidemiology. Public Health Instructor. Father. Husband. "All around great guy."