The Ethical Choices We Make to Do What We Love

Pay attention to the implications of your actions, but don’t drive yourself crazy

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH
4 min readMay 1, 2022
Photo: Vienna Reyes / Unsplash

I don’t like soccer just because I was born and raised in Mexico. I like soccer because it’s a fun sport to watch. Even in low-scoring games, the skills and athletic ability professional soccer players display are admirable. That, and I also fancy myself a soccer player, emulating what I see in professional games (but often being sorely disappointed, or just plain sore).

This November and December, the 2022 FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar, and I am a bit conflicted about watching the games or supporting the sponsors. According to The Guardian newspaper, thousands of people have died in Qatar in doing work to build stadiums and other infrastructure for the World Cup. There are also allegations of corruption in the awarding of the tournament to Qatar.

The World Cup is not the only product out there that causes me concern.

I drive a gasoline-fueled vehicle, and I am well aware of what fossil fuel burning is doing to the climate. I also love Chick-fil-A, especially the spicy chicken sandwich, but I’ve heard about the corporation’s (and later, the owner’s) donations to anti-LGBTQ+ causes. I’m planning on going to the theater to see the next Top Gun movie…

--

--

René F. Najera, MPH, DrPH

DrPH in Epidemiology. Public Health Instructor. Father. Husband. "All around great guy."